Image Alt

The Singapore Law Gazette

Law Fraternity Annual Golf Tournament 2022

In spite of the threat of thunderstorms forecasted for the afternoon game, we are happy to report that the event went on smoothly with no play suspension.

This was the first sporting event held by the Sports Committee of the Law Society of Singapore after the safe distance measurements rules have been lifted, and members of the law fraternity who signed up for the event, were excited to be able to take part in a law fraternity tournament after a three year hiatus.

We teed off punctually at 12.01pm with Justice Lee Seiu Kin and Justice Chua Lee Ming leading the way, and the last flight returned just before the lightning storm hit Orchid Country Club, and the course closed for the rest of the afternoon. We enjoyed post-game dinner and drinks at the café, where the prize giving ceremony was held. Justice Chua and our Sports Committee Chairman, Mr Tan Xu Teng, gave the prizes away. The course was in beautiful condition but played much more difficult than usual due to the placement of the pin in challenging positions on the green. Many of the players reported that whilst they managed to put the ball on the green on regulation, they still ended up three or four-putting the hole due to the undulating greens and holes placed on slopes – we call this phenomenon the “greenskeeper’s revenge”. Anyway, looking at the scores below, it is obvious that some golfers rose up to the challenge (well done to the winners!). The rest who did not get placed on the scoreboard, were left wishing if we could just press the reset button and hit the ball better…


Knowles Cup – Best Nett Score

Name Hdcp Nett Score
Mr Tang Shang Wei 15.7 61

Wee Chong Jin Cup – Best Gross Score

Name Hdcp Gross Score
Mr Harminderjit Singh 15.6 80

CC Tan Cup – Best Stableford Score

Name Stableford points
Mr Kirpal Singh Sharma 44
Mr Kirpal Singh 38 (OCB)
Mr Joseph Liow 38 (OCB)
Justice Lee Seiu Kin 38
Mr Tito Isaac 37
Mr Ramu Miyapan 35
Mr Mark Tan 34
Mr Alban Kang 33 (OCB)
Mr Suresh Divyanathan 33 (OCB)
Mr Chiam Tao Koon 33

Novelty Prizes – Nearest to Pin

Name Hole Distance from pin
Justice Lee Seiu Kin Vanda Hole 2 3 metres
Mr Chiam Tao Koon Vanda Hole 4 2 metres
Ms Ong Sing Yee Dendro Hole 4 3.3 metres
Ms Fok Jun Heng Dendro Hole 8 1.5 metres

Once again, our heartiest congratulations to all the winners and we hope to see each other for another social game soon!

Photograph to commemorate the first mask-off group sporting event organised by the Law Society of Singapore.

Golfers getting ready to tee off at hole no. 1 Dendro Course. From left: Chiam Tao Koon, Chan Lai Foong, Justice Chua Lee Ming, Chris Tan

Golfers taking time off for a wefie during tournament. From left: Tito Isaac, Simon Yuen, N Sreenivasan SC and Suresh Divyanathan.

Winning the Wee Chong Jin cup, Mr Harminder Singh, smiling away proudly while receiving the trophy from Justice Chua Lee Ming for best gross score of 80

Mr Kirpal Singh Sharma played well and was awarded the CC Tan Cup for his best stableford score of 44 points

Mr Tang Shang Wei receiving the Knowles Cupp for his best nett score at 61!

Nearest to Pin with a distance of 1.5m from the pin on Dendro Hole 8, was Ms Fok Jun Heng

Nearest to Pin with a distance of 3.3m from the pin on the Dendro Hole 4 was another one of our lady golfers, Ms Ong Sing Yee.

Golf Convenor
Sports Committee
The Law Society of Singapore