Image Alt

The Singapore Law Gazette

Cross Country Run 2019

This year, the Annual Law Society Cross-Country Run took place yet again at Bedok Reservoir on 3 August 2019. This was the second year in succession that the run was taking place after a long hiatus.

This year’s event saw some 170 runners across various law firms as well as the Attorney-General’s Chambers gather and take part both in individual and team categories. The distance of the running course was 4.3km. The picturesque course consisted of a mixture of packed gravel and tarmac, which added some variety. The terrain was relatively flat resulting in many runners posting incredibly fast timings.

Needless to say, the competitive streaks evident in lawyers meant that the individual and team categories were very hotly contested.

Rajah & Tann who were Runners’ Up in the team event in 2018 put up a strong showing this year sweeping the Team Challenge Shield this time round. Allen & Gledhill who were last year’s winners, finished Runners’ Up. Team Shook Lin & Bok were narrowly behind in third place separated only by a mere 21 seconds!

Mr M Rajaram, Vice-President, Law Society of Singapore, the event’s Guest of Honour flagged off the run and gave away the winners’ medals and Team Challenge Shield. In his brief speech addressing the runners before giving out the prizes, Mr Rajaram reminisced about the past editions of the Society’s annual cross-country runs at MacRitchie Reservoir, particularly how well attended those were and also how the runs brought the fraternity very much together. He also expressed his happiness at the annual cross-country run’s recent revival given keen interest in running amongst members.

The Organising Committee behind this year’s run is deeply appreciative of the strong turnout and support as well as the feedback received post-event.

The overall results of this year’s run are set out below:

Men’s Junior

S/NRunners’ NamesTime (min:sec)
1.David Foong14mins 43s
2.Devathas Satianathan14mins 47s
3.Jeremy Sng Zhi Wei15mins 24s
4.Matthew Brown16mins 02s
5.Yutaka Sakashita16mins 36s

Ladies’ Junior

S/NRunners’ NamesTime (min:sec)
1.Bethel Chan Ruiyi21mins 33s
2.Kelly Choo Hui Ying21mins 47s
3.Chua Xin Ying22mins 06s
4.Rachel Ong Hui Fen22mins 12s
5.Alisa Toh Qian Wen22mins 47s

Men’s Senior

S/NRunners’ NamesTime (min:sec)
1.Yau Yee Ming17mins 43s
2.Probin Stephan Dass18mins 48s
3.Timothy Peter Beech18mins 57s
4.Gan Eng Tong18mins 59s
5.Harold Or Wai Keong19mins 03s

Ladies’ Senior

S/NRunners’ NamesTime (min:sec)
1.Ng Li Ling Andrea20mins 43s
2.Tan Ke-Xin Cheryl22mins 36s
3.Low Pei Lin23mins 22s
4.Angeline Poon23mins 48s
5.Lee Xin Mei25mins 58s

Team Event

1st – Rajah & Tann – Combined Time : 2hrs 17min 39s 
1.Devathas Satianathan
2.Alvin Ee Chin Liang
3.Yau Yee Ming
4.Gan Eng Tong
5.Bethel Chan Ruiyi
6.Tay Zhou Lin Cheryl
7.Tan Ke-Xin Cheryl
2nd – Allen & Gledhill – Combined Time : 2hrs 25min 02s 
1.Ang Ka Wai
2.Nor Aizat Bin Ahmad
3.Harold Or Wai Keong
4.Ramesh Selvaraj
5.Chua Xinying
6.Rachel Ong Hui Fen
7.Low Pei Lin
3rd – Shook Lin & Bok – Combined Time : 2hrs 25min 23s 
1.Lim Bi Jie
2.Goh Xue Wei
3.Probin Stephan Dass
4.Tan Woon Hum
5.Kelly Choo Hui Ying
6.Wong Shuhui Deborah
7.Ng Li Ling Andrea

Due to overwhelming interest, the Law Society Annual Cross-Country Run is set to become a firm fixture in the society’s annual events calendar. It is hoped that the run will continue to foster and engender a sense of togetherness and camaraderie amongst members of the society and the legal fraternity at large.

The 2020 edition of the run promises to be even more exciting as we look to build on the good work over the last two years. Till then, keep (or start as the case may be for some of us!) running for as they say, running is after all the greatest metaphor for life, because you get out of it what you put into it.

Men’s Senior revving their engines and starting off their run

Our Women’s Junior warming up and getting ready to run

Rajah & Tann Team in high spirits as they won the Challenge Shield this year

Ramesh, our Cross-Country Convenor, presents a token of appreciation to our Guest-of-Honour, the Law Society’s Vice-President, Mr M Rajaram

Cross-Country Convenor, Sports Committee 2019
The Law Society of Singapore